Hiatus Kaiyote

Self-termed future soul band Hiatus Kaiyote -- akin to a neo-soul group with abstract hip-hop production -- formed in Melbourne, Australia, in 2011. Fronted by singer, songwriter, and guitarist Nai Palm, the band also features bassist Paul Bender, drummer Perrin Moss, and keyboardist Simon Mavin (also of the Bamboos). They self-released their short debut album, Tawk Tomahawk, in 2012, and gradually won support from a wide swath of taste-making DJs (such as Gilles Peterson) and fellow artists (beginning with Taylor McFerrin and later including ?uestlove and Erykah Badu). The band signed to Salaam Remi's Sony-distributed Flying Buddha label and re-released Tawk Tomahawk with a bonus track -- a version of album highlight "Nakamarra" featuring a guest verse from Q-Tip.

Title Album Genre Tools
Take Me Back